A rude interruption…

…from an otherwise uneventful chain of events.

There’s a book in that somewhere.

This is yet another unscheduled, unannounced and unrelated post. I’m going to have to make a new category for these.

You may have noticed the survey posted a few days ago. Once again, I beg you with all my heart and soul and brain and guts and organs and lungs and legs and etc to go back and fill that in. There’s a link above if you missed it. There’s also a link here. Never let it be said I am not user-friendly.

The news that I am interrupting your Friday morning to bring you is that THE PERIODIC TABLE EVENT IS BEING PUT ON HOLD. This is partly because we had a less than overwhelming response (for more info see here), partly because there’s a few interesting things I want to write about that I can’t tie into the event. And that event is talking about the thing that underpins the entire universe. To be honest, I could probably tie it in if I really wanted to, but based on the response so far that would make no one read it. So that doesn’t seem like a very good idea.

The two other reasons that I will be STOPPING THE PERIODIC TABLE EVENT (in case you missed it the first time) is that I am taking a short holiday to Berlin. There may be some cool photos when I get back. Or there might not be. The second reason is that the Periodic Table is getting a bit boring. So I will take a two-week hiatus from all things Periodic and Tabley (ending on the 5th of March) and then we will see what will happen. I reckon that two weeks is about enough to get a decent sample size from my survey (if you have friends or family, ask them to fill it in. If you don’t have friends or family, you are probably an orphaned tramp. I feel sorry for you.) and I can make a vaguely informed decision on whether anyone is actually interested in it. That is yet to be decided.

In an unrelated story that will only concern those who have been following this blog for a really long time (all of three months), we just passed the 100 unique visitor mark. That is great – thank you so so so so so so so so so so so much for being there for this blog throughout the very short time it has been up. That number does have a little more significance though. Back in the dark days when this thing had been up for a few days, I made a promise. I said that when we passed 100 unique visitors, I would update the About page with some information about things that bear some semblence to pieces of data that resemble vaguely the people running this blog. I have grown up in a society where we have been taught to treat the internet like a thing that takes your personal data and screams it from the metaphorical and literal rooftops (some day, Google will install LED billboards with speakers. Then your data will literally be screamed from the rooftops). So I’m just covering my back here.

So I will be putting some words on the About page that relate to me, and will encourage my good friend thepythonguy to do the same, and there might even be pictures. Pictures with very low resolution, taken from a great distance on a foggy night. You can never be too careful online.

Leave a Reply

